Target acquired (#4)

I mentioned yesterday the need to standardize a target and a distance as I seek improvement with my Davidic sling weapon. Without a way to quantitate my progress, my scientific brain might implode.

In response to this need, I invested some time today in choosing an appropriate target for my sling practice. Below I have photographed and diagrammed the results.

The essential points:

  • My target – it is 21in in diameter and drawn on the small veranda wall. I calculated the approximate size of Goliath (assuming 9’5″) and drew him as the large blue line to the right. Using complex trigonometric calculus (Melissa helped me with that part), I have determined the approximate size of Goliath’s head to be 21in. As a point of interest, the second, smaller line to the left is my height.
  • The distance –  12yd away from my target. I have no idea how far away David was, but I hope he wasn’t closer than 12yd before he managed to kill Goliath. I feel like  this distance is a good goal for a white-belt slinger to be able to strike an onrushing foe.

I was able to strike Goliath’s head once today with my sling. Roughly a 4% accuracy rate. Not bad, not bad.

4 Responses to Target acquired (#4)

  1. Schmidt says:

    I love this! Slay Goliath my friend, slay him. If the Philistines ever come to my doorstep, I’ll know who to call.

  2. Jeffcoach says:

    Your blogrimage makes me remember my previous desire to learn how to sling my stethoscope like a set of nunchucks. I may have to revive this old dream once again. Just think about it…an unassuming lethal weapon hanging around your neck all day!

  3. […] well, I feel. My wife came out to appraise my progress and said I was doing well. I hit my “goliath head target” once and a bystanding tree twice. No humans were harmed in the making of this […]

  4. […] the fact that I have now lost my ideal “Goliath-head sized” target – I have prospered. I am using a rusty barrel to fling at and have discovered, with the help […]

Leave a comment